2nd week

Things have been going smoothly so far. Except that day when the train stopped working and I was late for 30 minutes. So far the only thing I hate about this job is the daily commute. It is way farther compared to my previous work, but my old university is nearby so it’s the same commute I took in college, which entails passing through a circle of hell (a rotunda), or being crushed and suffocated in an overcrowded train.

We’ve been in the pediatric ICU this week, and I don’t like it one bit. Mostly because I don’t like seeing children suffering because it looks so unnatural, more unnatural than adults, they look so fragile and so helpless, and to make  things worse they can’t speak for themselves yet, they rely heavily on their primary caregiver. The thing is, sometimes their primary caregivers are neglectful, annoying, *insert cuss word here*. I mean, for Christ’s sake, the kid would have fared better if they took better care of him/her, or better yet the kid wouldn’t have gotten worse in the first place if they consulted a doctor and adhered to the treatment. And they don’t have the right to say that they can’t afford it because the treatment for that disease is free at health centers.

Sorry for the rant, but you see, the kid died this morning.

Anyway, second reason why I don’t like pediatrics is that kids hate me.  Seriously. One kid from the supermarket slapped my leg because i was looking at her.  And the kid I’m handling today was crying when I was taking his blood pressure. My niece also cries when she sees me. 

Leave a Reply

