Day 10 (not really)

One of our patients died yesterday. The patient wasn’t supposed to die in my shift, I was so sure of it. But my colleague turned up 30 minutes before my shift ended, and we sort of tease her that she’s a grim reaper because 2 patients already died in her shift. And the fact that she just turned up when my patient died.

Just to be clear, the patients mentioned in this post are already dying, usually from 4th stage cancers with various complications. My patient and his relatives opted to not get intubated. They just waited for the patient to expire.

It’s sad to watch, I have been there, I know how it feels. I have been holding back flashbacks and tears throughout that night. It’s a good thing I was sleep deprived and busy doing things.

3 thoughts on “Day 10 (not really)

Leave a Reply

